If you want to become a mechanical engineer in Alaska, there are two schools you can choose from. Both schools offer Associate's, Bachelor's, and Master's degrees in mechanical engineering. Only one, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, offers a PhD program in mechanical engineering. The average cost of tuition for residents is about $3,000 and the average tuition cost for non-residents is $9,500.
If you want to pursue an Associate's degree in mechanical engineering, you can expect to spend about two years of time in school to complete 55-65 credits. If you want to complete a Bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering, prepare to spend four or five years in school. You may have to complete 120 or more credits. These programs include high-level courses like Composite Materials, Environmental System Design, Mechanical Vibrations, and Fracture Mechanics.
Choosing to pursue a Master's degree or PhD allows you to delve further into mechanical engineering. A Master's degree may take you two years as a full-time student or four years as a part-time student. Either way, you may have to complete about 30 credits. A doctorate program is considerably longer and takes most students five to seven years to complete; this is because you have to complete a thesis and defend it.
If you are a resident, the average tuition cost you can anticipate is $3000 per semester. If you are a non-resident, the average tuition cost is $9,500. Tuition costs are similar at both Alaska schools, although the University of Alaska Anchorage is slightly less expensive than University of Alaska Fairbanks.
There are many scholarships you should consider taking advantage of as an Alaska student. The Alaska Engineering Education Foundation offers $2000 scholarships to engineering students on an annual basis. The Alaska Society of Professional Engineers also awards scholarships of up to $2000.
Licensing of Alaskan engineers is done through the Alaska State Board of Registration for Architects, Engineers, and Land Surveyors. In order to get your license, you must fill out the application form available at their website. This includes taking and passing an exam, providing references, and paying a $350 fee. After your initial licensure, you must renew every two years.
In order to stay involved in engineering legislature that may affect your license and how you practice, you may join the Alaska Society of Professional Engineers. This also entitles you to special continuing education opportunities.